You’ve got to be kidding!

Wednesday – 23rd February 2011    

What a morning!

We wake up at 6.30am so we can go for a swim in the pool before yoga at 8am. Yes that’s right, I said “before yoga”…..

The whole group (and that does include Me!) have decided we would do the yoga class at 8am this morning to support two of the group members who are having physical challenges. What was worked out is that it would feel encouraging and significant for them for the group to attend together.

This is a huge S-T-R-E-T-C-H for me to participate. I don’t like yoga, or in fact, any other “on-the-ground” based exercise. When I have been convinced (a few times over the years I have relented ) that it is ‘good for me’ and have dutifully gone along to a class……. rather than ending up feeling flexible and graceful, lithe and relaxed and serene, etc….etc……..you know the yoga-ommmmmmmmming-serene stance – insert images here of gorgeous muscled, lithe gods and goddesses…..

I usually end up feeling –

  • in pain,
  • aware of my many inflexibilities and rigidities,
  • feeling unfit, incompetent and
  • staring at the roof and hating the drone of the teacher’s voice as they give instructions in such a way as if to imply this is easy peasey stuff……

The teacher’s Indian meditative voice drones…..

“Raise….both….legs….. in…..the…..air”, he says to us lying on our backs on the floor.

That shouldn’t be too hard I think….. I could raise one leg at a time which is the exercises we have done up to now.

Raise legs!” I command. They stay flat on the floor and the message back to me is “You’ve got to be kidding!”

“Move”, I direct again. But no response!

I try pleading and being insistent but still they don’t move. Where’s my super powers when I need them?

Then my head says – remember you have a pain in your groin that challenges you at the best of times. AND have you already forgotten that prior to coming to the class just 30 minutes ago we went down the beach and you went for a swim in the ocean and you got well and truly dumped by a wave onto your backside and coccyx and you are in pain!!

A lot of pain in fact.

And to lift your legs you need the leverage of those muscles. NOT going to happen!!….So I lay still while the others dangle their legs in the air.

Next we have to get up off the floor and stand. Well, if Shelton hadn’t been there to pull me up then I would still be sitting there.

Then the teacher demonstrates the next ‘pose’. He goes down with his hands to the ground stretching one leg o u t behind him! I didn’t wait any longer to see anymore. I skedaddled out of there as quick as my pained and unfit body could carry me.

END of yoga classes for me…….!!

Back to the beach before I forget it……..What an amazing experience it was this morning. At our cottage high up on the hill we could hear this really loud music. It was fairly early in the morning for people to be partying on the beach, we think…….

The beach normally does have much early morning activity as below us is a whole world of fishermen, as well as tourists exercising and strolling the beach, as well as young teenage Indian boys playing games of soccer.

Shelton joining in giving a helping hand…….

the Kerala fishermen

Well today we were in for a special treat!

Down on the beach at the water’s edge next to the fishermen were a bunch of people dancing. Yes, dancing…..a young girl in front, then a line of 3 young women in saris behind her and then a line of 3 men behind them.

There were movie cameras and TV monitors and a generator playing and blaring out the dance music we had been hearing and they did their thing over and over in true Bollywood dance style.

What a juxtaposition of the 2 worlds!….. All the glitter and glamour of the movie scene next to the day-in day-out relentlessly hard work of the scantily clad fishermen.

We couldn’t linger here for too long watching as Shelton had said he would come to the beach if it was only a short visit as he wanted to be on time for yoga. Our going down to the beach was for me to have a go at swimming in the ocean as the pool was closed today.

Well you heard the story above – only a few minutes in the water and this damn wave dumps me! Drat!

Question for you: Who in your life could benefit from you stretching into doing something that is unfamiliar and uncomfortable?

And another question: Where could you benefit from someone stretching into doing something for you that is unfamiliar and uncomfortable for them? 

I must go to bed. It’s late. Again. Take care. My gratefulness to those of you who have subscribed – I feel encouraged and cheered on!

Hope you are having a great day full of much adventures and connection.
Take gentle care of yourself and those you love,  My gratitude and love, Susie.

About susiesheartpathblog

My aim with Susies♥HeartpathBlog is to connect and relate to you from my heart, mind and soul while sharing information and resources about conscious relationships, communication and ♡LOVE and FULL exuberant ALIVENESS…. My intention is to provide a space where you can engage with me and with the community of those who are ‘walking’ the ♥HEART PATH of conscious relationships….. people who daily make choices and actions about becoming and being more ♡LOVE-ing…….people who care that their partners and families and friends and the wider community feel ♡LOVE-d and lovable… people who are curious about and respect and validate the reality of ‘the other’ and who choose to create and live in a Zero Negativity Zone [ZNZ zone].... I am committed to teaching and sharing practical user-friendly communication ★TOOLS and Skills and processes that lead to growth and deep healing, connection, ♡LOVE and intimacy. I am a keen net-worker and committed to connecting people to the abundance of resources that are available. I believe much of what we need is out there, yet people don’t often know the resources are there or if they do where to find them. Putting people in touch with opportunities and possibilities is a high priority for me….
This entry was posted in ♥LOVE NOTE, INDIA, Question for you, Self Help and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to You’ve got to be kidding!

  1. Kelly says:

    Great blog Susie… really enjoying the read and very jealous I must say! I know its probably hot over there but its about 42 here today with the heat and humidity combined! Look forward to reading more about Kerala and your learnings.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks ♥Kelly. Interestingly it doesn’t feel especially hot here for me. Probably being so close to the ocean cools it down somewhat…and it feels really pleasant…..Hope to have you join us here one day. I imagine you would love being relaxed and nurtured. ♥LOVE Susie.

      Like

  2. Lise & Mez says:

    Susie loving your blog. The retreat sounds so good we want to go. Much love to both of you xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hilary says:

    Ho Susie!
    Enjoy your swimming, how wonderful to have the ability to have a strong and supple body, but yes, it does take time and practice, :O)
    Ohh what fun ! Yoga at sunrise, one of my best memories, yoga with the Himalayan mountains to the front, the sun peeking over the hills behind and lighting up the snow covered peaks so that they glistened like gold as they revealed themselves, like a slow seductive dance, seeing the hills in front become revealed through haze of wood smoke, while down in the valleys the light of the huts dimmed as people awoke ready for the day, MMMmmmmmmm……………………….

    Liked by 1 person

    • MMMmmmmmmm……………………….♥Hilary, you do paint such a beautiful picture!………..And I can see you here one day painting a different picture of India looking out over the tropical gardens and the ocean doing your yoga at sunrise creating a different ‘best’ memory…….I look forward to sharing that time with you. ♥LOVE Susie.

      Like

  4. Fiona says:

    I have a lot to catch up on… But I’ll get there! Loving every single bit! Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts here - be great to hear what you think♡