SMART-P ACTION PLAN &…does this get me closer to my goal?

Tuesday 7th June 2011

“What day is it?”
It’s today,” squeaked Piglet.
My favorite day,” said Pooh.” ~ A.A. Milne

Congratulations to those of you on  Day 7 of our 30 DAY BEING-♡LOVE CAMPAIGN. How are those of you who have taken on the challenge going with it? How about doing a check-in and review right now on how you’re doing!

Whenever we set an INTENTION to do a new behaviour or action it is essential for our success to state what we will be doing in the form of a SMART-P ACTION PLAN – this makes it clear what we are doing and as well it gives us a bench-mark to measure whether we are achieving it OR not.

 S–pecific
M–easurable
A–chievable
R–elevant & R–elated
T–ime frame – set yourself a time you will do each day
P–ositive – put it in the positive

For example: Once a day I am doing _____________♡LOVE-ing action for __________ instead of describing it by saying I won’t______________eg: neglect or ignore my friend…etc…

In general, most people when they are stating what they are going to change in themselves or also when they ask for changes from others are NOT skilled in putting it in the SMART-P form. 

Why is this? I imagine you think you are very clearly stating what you are choosing to do yourself as well as what you want and need from others.

Two Questions to ask yourself:
1. When you put your needs out to people do they meet them?
2. Do you do what you say you are going to do and if not, what gets in the way of you doing so?

This will have links back to what it was like for us when we were growing up. Many people had inexperienced parents and other care-givers who were not there for them and did not meet their needs in a variety of ways – they may have experienced them as neglectful, invasive, controlling, rigid, dismissive, abandoning, insensitive, unavailable, cold, abusive……. and many other hurtful, wounding ways.

These messages may have come from their actions, their words, their tone, their body language, the way they looked at you…….Like for instance, my mother had “a look that could kill” and it wasn’t about her being ‘attacking’ or what most would understand as aggressive. And I can’t even actually remember her saying anything – it was her ‘poor me’-suffering-overwhelmed-I can’t cope LOOK.

I hated it and it drained me and impacted me profoundly. My coping stategy as a child was to become a care-taker and it wired me to act over-responsibly in relation to the world for many years.

And imagine a little baby having to look into the face of their mother who has postnatal depression, or is busy, or who isn’t emotionally available for any number of reasons. They won’t experience themself as precious and being a delight and being wanted.

Whatever was surrounding you is imprinted into your brain and in fact, from earliest childhood your brain was actually formed and wired according to what was repeated. And this includes being the young pre-verbal child experiencing whether you were delighted in and valued….  From a brain science perspective –

what gets fired gets wired.

The child forms both a ‘self-image’ and a ‘world-image’ as they grow. You were taught who you were and what you could be in the world and what you could expect from others. We lived in families, cultures, ethnic groups, countries, etc which all had a great influence on what we thought, the beliefs and values we took on, and the behaviours that were OK and those that weren’t.

What many people don’t realize is how

automatically and invisibly these childhood messages and conditioning are the foundation or blueprint for how we live our life today.

So there’s no accident you do what you are doing.

You are physiologically wired to be who you are and to act how you do.

And the other side of this is, the people who are in relation to you are acting the way they are because of the same reasons.

As well you ‘NEED’ your partners and others close to you to be acting in the ways they are!! YES. You NEED them to…..because that is wired into you as well!!!

To live a happy, peaceful and successful life it is important for you to uncover what is your unconscious childhood template of relationships, what was surrounding you, impacting you, shaping you.

Doing the 30 DAY BEING-LOVE CAMPAIGN will help you discover more about this and what drives and directs you. And you thought all you were doing was focusing your ♡LOVE and caring on another…..

Anywhere you are getting triggered or it feels really difficult you are opening a door and light is being shone onto something important for you to look at and explore.

be curious

I invite you to stay CURIOUS and NOTICE and NAME what you see. It is not about looking from the position of pointing the finger or blaming or shaming or wallowing in the past, but instead to go on a treasure hunt for clues to: 
-which needs of yours didn’t get met,
-what parts you had to shut down or get rid of, and
-what you experienced and learned about what ♡LOVE is.

Your parents did the best they could with what they knew. Like ♡Louise Hay, I believe – you are always doing the best you can till you find a better way” and most of our parents didn’t have access to education of the sort that we have about how be in relationship and how to parent.

As adults we can live the life we want if we know what the link is and do the work to cut these unconscious ties to the people who were significant and impactful to us as we were growing up.

When we remain unaware of this hidden agenda we keep on making the same moves and the same mistakes. In all our major relationships we unconsciously seek people who will treat us in the ways that the people who raised us did.   This includes both the positive and negative ways.

This happens in our primary love relationships as well as at work and in all the other major relationships of our lives. It takes commitment and courage to stay present and curious and open and delving into new more ♡LOVE-ing and valuing ways of being so you have my admiration and gratitude.

TOOLS

SOME TIPS/TOOLS  for the 30 DAY BEING-LOVE CAMPAIGN and other NEW PROJECTS

Start with a SMART-P ACTION PLAN

1. Post your actions/intentions on the blog in SMART-P form. Stating it gives it power and energy. If you prefer privacy write it on your diary or journal or somewhere you can see it.  If you have already written it you might like to review that your goals are in SMART-P form.

2. Be unattached to what ‘the other’ should do or act in relation to your actions – and how they receive your acts of ♡LOVE. Anytime you have an expectation of how another should act and they aren’t doing it, it is a criticism – even if it is just your opinion you carry inside your head! Be aware your expectations will energetically impact the other and have a good possibility it will induct/provoke the other at an unconscious level to do/act in the way you hate the most.

When there is zero expectation the other person will feel truly gifted by your sharing. True ♡LOVE comes from a full place in you – you don’t need anything from the other.

3. The ACTIONS we take create the RESULTS we get.

If you are not getting the RESULTS you want, what do you do?

The ACTIONS I  take create the RESULTS I get

You look to yourself and at the ACTIONS you are taking and alter them.

4. If you are triggered or reactive about ‘the other’ it is about you and your history and not about them. That is a red flag that you have some healing work to do on yourself.

5. You have buttons/switches inside you. People external to YOU can push them or switch them on but they did NOT put the buttons/switches inside you! They are reminding you that you have these buttons/switches inside you.

6. Ask yourself – What action can I take to remove and re-wire the switches inside me? It is counter-intuitive as it is always about us doing something ♡LOVE-ing and caring to/for the other who is triggering us the most – it is the very person in that instance we want least to be ♡LOVE-ing or caring or valuing to. If we want to grow it is doing something that makes us squirm and is hard to do.

7. A great new TOOL I discovered the other day is to ask myself:

“does this get me closer to my goal?”…

Every task I choose to work on has to get a positive answer to the question.

8. Make sure to include daily celebrating and rewarding yourself for your successes and your efforts. In most areas of life when you do a job people expect to get paid/rewarded for it. In personal growth areas people tend to focus on what is wrong with them rather than celebrating and valuing when they achieve their goals.

Regularly give yourself  – pats on the back, high fives, woohoos!, good job, gold stars, well done!, How Awesome!, You Are Amaaaaaaazing!, doing little celebrating dances, special treats….The kid parts of us love this!

Question for you:  What are different words and ways you use to celebrate and value yours and others’ success and achievements?

So dear Ones, lovely spending time with you. May all your projects and life nourish and expand you and give you the opportunity many times over to celebrate your beautiful self,

Gratefully and with ♡LOVE, Susie

_______________________________________

“When you see someone putting on his Big Boots, you can be pretty sure that an Adventure is going to happen.”  ~ A.A. Milne (Winnie-the-Pooh)

“How do you spell ‘love’?” – Piglet. “You don’t spell it…you feel it.” – Pooh” ~ A.A. Milne

“Whatever we judge or condemn in another is ultimately a disowned or rejected part of ourselves.” ~ Debbie Ford.

“There is no remedy for love but to love more.” ~ Henry David Thoreau

___________________________________________

About susiesheartpathblog

My aim with Susies♥HeartpathBlog is to connect and relate to you from my heart, mind and soul while sharing information and resources about conscious relationships, communication and ♡LOVE and FULL exuberant ALIVENESS…. My intention is to provide a space where you can engage with me and with the community of those who are ‘walking’ the ♥HEART PATH of conscious relationships….. people who daily make choices and actions about becoming and being more ♡LOVE-ing…….people who care that their partners and families and friends and the wider community feel ♡LOVE-d and lovable… people who are curious about and respect and validate the reality of ‘the other’ and who choose to create and live in a Zero Negativity Zone [ZNZ zone].... I am committed to teaching and sharing practical user-friendly communication ★TOOLS and Skills and processes that lead to growth and deep healing, connection, ♡LOVE and intimacy. I am a keen net-worker and committed to connecting people to the abundance of resources that are available. I believe much of what we need is out there, yet people don’t often know the resources are there or if they do where to find them. Putting people in touch with opportunities and possibilities is a high priority for me….
This entry was posted in 30 DAY BEING-LOVE♥ CAMPAIGN, ♥DAILY LOVE TIPS, ♥TOOLS, Question for you, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to SMART-P ACTION PLAN &…does this get me closer to my goal?

  1. Gaelia says:

    Hi Susie,
    Goodness me day 7 already. Technically on day 4 for me as I signed up on June 3 but lets not get too hung up on details! Breif reminder. I was going to practice loving myself by taking 2 x 15 minutes breaks a day to do something relaxing for myself like reading a novel. YOU ARE BAD WOMAN SUSIE ITZSTEIN! LOL No really you are awesome. We had a long weekend here in Perth. Not only did I take 30minutes a day to read, but snuck an extra 5, 10 , 15, 30 minutes here & there & polished off a WHOLE novel. OMG guess what, the house didn’t fall apart, I don’t feel any further behind than I already felt PLUS I actually feel relaxed & even a little energised! Thankyou so much Susie for giving me the shove I needed to reconnect with a lost part of me that loves to get lost in a good novel. Now to dig out another unread & neglected friend…………………
    Love Gaelia.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Woo Hoo!, Yay! Well Done! You go girl!…..What a quantum leap! How Exciting – you’ve made my day to open and read of your JOY and ALIVENESS. Big Hug full of Admiration, Love Susie xx

    Like

  3. Stephanie says:

    This weekend I went on a retreat where one of the women had a bunch of star stickers and gave one to each of us to place whereever we wanted. I want to commit to getting a batch of stars and placing one on my calendar for each time I accomplish something…no matter how small it may be. And if I am feeling particularly frisky I will put one on my hand or face…and I may even walk outside with it! Thank you for all the work and heart you are putting into your campaign.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Freea says:

    I’m enjoying doing the BLC and am finding it is helping me to be a BFG {ed: Big Friendly Giant} more often 🙂 Commiting to connecting to Lee and doing something loving every day can be a stretch at times when life and my emotions creep in but I am noticing that it is re-firing and fueling the fun in our relationship and it is helping me to get over the cold pricklys quicker. It really is true that smiling and laughing helps scare aware anger and grumpiness – I have sometimes wallowed in my anger but laughing is much more fun! Plus it’s fun coming up with other ways to connect, like flooding Lee with smiling pictures at work when he is having a bad day just so I can imagine him smiling! 😛 From your science geek, I love you my tech geek to the moon and back and all around the world xx 🙂

    I admit that I didn’t send a card to a friend on the weekend, but it is in my thoughts to do every day. I need to put my intentions into action and I will commit to doing two this weekend instead.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Freea says:

    PS I love all the quotes – keep them coming!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Anne says:

    Really great & deep insights on the post. Wow! I love the reminder that we are physiologically wired to act a certain way and so are they!!! That really helps me respond in a more loving manner!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts here - be great to hear what you think♡